Sports & Activities


About Us


Groups & Events



May 8, 2018 Election


Posted on February 8, 2018 | Self-Nomination Form | Absentee Ballot Request Form

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, and particularly to the electors of the Vail Park and Recreation District of Eagle County, Colorado.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a regular election will be held on Tuesday, May 8, 2018, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. At that time, three (3) directors will be elected to serve a four-year term.

Self-Nomination and Acceptance forms are available from April Heredia, the Designated Election Official for the District, at 700 S. Frontage Rd E, Vail, CO 81657.  Self-Nomination and Acceptance forms must be filed with the Designated Election Official for the District at the above address not less than 67 days prior to the election (Friday, March 2, 2018).

NOTICE IS FURTHER GIVEN that applications for absentee ballots may be filed with the Designated Election Official of the District at the above address between the hours of 9 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., until the close of business on the Tuesday immediately preceding the election (Tuesday, May 1, 2018).  All absentee ballots must be returned to the Designated Election Official by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.

2017 Election

Election Results

November 7, 2017 - On Tuesday, Nov. 7, voters approved a mill levy increase for the Vail Recreation District. The VRD held a special election asking residents and property owners to approve a mill levy increase to help offset the VRD's funding needs. The official results show the ballot issue passed 827 to 595.

This election was conducted via a mail ballot and asked voters to authorize a tax increase of 1.000 mills, for the purpose of funding operating and capital expenses, to include addressing the major repair backlog to facilities and equipment and making VRD operations and facilities more environmentally friendly. 

Official Results
Yes: 827
No: 595

2016 Election

Election Results

Vail Park and Recreation District (VRD) voters elected Bill J. Suarez (incumbent) and Roland J. Kjesbo today, May 3, to serve as members of the VRD Board of Directors. The results are preliminary pending certification by the canvas board. Unofficial results are as follows:

Bill J Suarez – 187
Roland J Kjesbo – 124
Rodney Johnson – 109
Stephen “Cone” Connolly – 50
Brian Rodine – 45

The new members will serve four-year terms and join Tom Saalfeld, Kevin Foley and Kimberly Newbury who will continue to the 2018 election.